في المختبر
معرض: آلات ورقية
feminist architecture collaborative

 14 كانون الثاني/يناير – 31 آذار/ مارس 2020
المختبر

المواطنة هي حد مصطنع بين حماية الحقوق وإنكارها، وهي مساحة معقدة بين حالتين، ذلك أنها ليست مجرد علاقة  ثنائية بين جسد المرء والأرض- إنه مواطن وهي ليست كذلك- بل هي مشروطة أيضا بالنوع الاجتماعي والعرق والطبقة. إن انتماء الجسد ليس كافيًا، إذ يتوسط حق الجسد في الأرض والجنسية مجموعة من العناصر المادية: المواد البيولوجية والوثائق الورقية والماسحات الضوئية وغيرها من واجهات الاتصال القائمة بين الناس والحكومات. ولكنّ الحكومات لا تتعرّف دائمًا على تابعيها الموجودين داخل الحدود المسقطة على أرضها. إن الانتماء إلى الوطن تجربة ذات أبعاد مادية يرتديها الجسد.

في الأوجه المتعددة لامتلاك المواطنة وعدم امتلاكها، تكون النساء بخاصة عرضةً للاستثناء والإقصاء. إن قوانين الجنسية التي ورثت مصطلح "حق الدم"  (خلافًا لحقّ الإقليم أو حق المواطنة بالولادة) تمنح الجنسية بناءً على النسب الأبويّ. وفي ظل هذه القوانين تكون المرأة غير قادرة على إعادة إنتاج المواطنة من خلال تمرير جنسيتها لعائلتها. في 25 دولةً حول العالم، نجد بأن حقُّ الدمّ يجعل من الجسدَ حد فاصل للانتماء، وحقيقة أكثر ثقلا من الإقامة، ولا يزال يترك النساء خارج الحماية الكاملة لحقوق المواطن. في الوقت الذي تشهد فيه الوثائق الورقيّة بهويّة الجسد وموقعه الشرعيّ المحصور بمؤهلات الأبوّة والجنسيّة، تصبح المرأة أكثر عرضة للخطر عند عجزها عن تقديم الأدلة المطلوبة لإثبات انتمائها، وتتكبّد النساء العواقب الفوريّة والوجوديّة التي تنتج عن إقصائهن خارج القانون، حيث تفرض الوثيقة الورقية عليهن حالة من الاقتلاع.

معرض "آلات ورقية" هو بحث عن احتمالات جديدة من خلال إعادة الصياغة، فهو لا يسعى إلى إعادة إنتاج وثائق ورقية بقصد الاستخدام، و إنما تقديم منظور نقدي. هنا، نفحص لغة القانون، و نماذج تصميم الوثائق التي تصدر بالاستناد إليه، وأماكن إصدارها بهدف إثارة السؤال حول إمكانية أن تكون البطاقة الشخصية وسيط يمكّن من الاحتواء، و نحاول الإجابة باستخدام تكتيكات غير رسميّة وبقدر كبير من العناية، فإذا كان القانون يحِد من تعريف الذاتية الأنثوية، فعلينا تحديد تقنيات هذه المنظومة التي تُشكّل أو "تصمّم" مواطنتها.  وما بين الداخل البيروقراطي، وأسطورة الدم والأرض، يُنتج المعرض مساحة لتأمل الأجهزة المعاصرة لحق الدم.

feminist architecture collaborative هي مؤسسة أبحاث معمارية تضم ثلاث نساء * تهدف إلى تفكيك السياسة المكانية المعاصرة والظهور التكنولوجي للجسد. مشاريعهم تتجاوز الممارسات النظرية والناشطة لتحديد أشكال جديدة من العمل المعماري من خلال علاقات تعاونية مع ممارسين ثقافيين من مختلف أنحاء العالم. لهم مشاريع سابقة وحالية في مدينة نيويورك، وعلى الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك ، وفي منطقة الأمازون في الإكوادور والأردن ولبنان.

متعلّقات

at the lab
Exhibition: Paper Machine
feminist architecture collaborative

14  January – 31 March 2020
The Lab 

Citizenship is something designed. It describes the state between rights protected and rights denied. The threshold of citizenship is not a binary relation between one’s body and a territory: he is a citizen and she is not. In reality, there is complex terrain between the two positions, and its experiences are further conditioned by gender, race, and class.. The body who belongs is not enough. Rather, bodily claims to territory and nationality are mediated by a world of artifacts:  biomaterial, paper documents, scanners, and other physical interfaces between people and governments. The governing apparatus does not always recognize its subjects on the appropriate side of a line projected onto sand. Belonging to the nation is an experience through materials; it wears on the body.

In the uneven textures between holding citizenship and being without it, women are especially vulnerable to exception and expulsion. Nationality codes that inherit the terms of jus sanguinis (“right of blood” instead of  “right of the soil,” jus soli) confer nationality through patrilineal bloodline. Under such laws, women cannot reproduce citizenship; their blood does not pass as the material of belonging. In 25 countries around the world, jus sanguinis situates the body as a threshold of inclusion, a truth more certain than residency. But it continues to leave women out of the full protection of the rights of the citizen. When the paper document attests to the identity of its holder  through paternity and nationality, women are challenged to present the proper evidence of their belonging. Women bear the immediate and existential consequences of being written out of the law, and the document enforces displacement.

This exhibition seeks possibility in counterfeits. It does not aim to produce papers that pass; but criticizes the very medium of national identity. The gallery wears the disguise of the passport office. Here, we examine the language of the law, legal documents, their methods of design and spaces of procurement. Does the identity document have capacity for inclusion? We respond to this question with unofficial tactics but great care. If the political subjectivity of womanhood is narrowly defined by the law, we must identify the techniques that design her citizenship. Somewhere between the bureaucratic interior of the Civil Status Department and the myth of blood-and-soil, Paper Machine creates a site of  encounter with the contemporary apparatus of jus sanguinis.

feminist architecture collaborative (alt: f-architecture) is a three-woman* architectural research enterprise aimed at disentangling the contemporary spatial politics and technological appearances of bodies, intimately and globally. Their projects traverse theoretical and activist registers to locate new forms of architectural work through critical relationships with collaborators across the globe. Past and current projects are located in New York City, on the US-Mexico border, in the Amazon of Ecuador, in Jordan and in Lebanon.

related