جانب من المعرض.
ناثانيل إيفريت جرين. بيت لحم- بانوراما كنيسة المهد، حوالي 1884.
ألبومات أزهار وصور من الأرض المقدسة بغلاف من خشب الزيتون، حوالي 1890. كل طبعة فوتوغرافية ملونة يتبعها أزهار مجففة.
فرانز كلاوس. ملصق زُر فلسطين. تم إصدارها من الجمعية الفلسطينية للتنمية السياحية، 1930-1935. وكونغور ميتكالف. ملصق الأرض المقدسة، بستان جثسيماني، جبل الزيتون، 1960.
جانب من المعرض.
جانب من المعرض.
جانب من المعرض.
فلسطين او الأرض المقدسة، مع 36 مشهد خلّاب. من رحلة فوربين الى الشرق، عام 1817 و1818. نشر في 1826.
جانب من المعرض.
معرض
طبوغرافيّة المكان – فلسطين والأردن
تحية إلى الدكتور هشام الخطيب: عرض من مجموعته الخاصة وأرشيفه

25 تشرين الأول 2022 – 28 شباط 2023
المبنى الرئيسي

فقدنا في 2022 صديقاً عزيزاً وعضواً فخرياً في المجلس الاستشاري لدارة الفنون، وهو المفكر والمهندس والاقتصادي والمؤرخ ومقتني الفنون والوثائق الدكتور هشام الخطيب.

على مدار 40 عاماً، عمل الدكتور هشام بتأن وحرفيّة على البحث والتوثيق وتجميع المقتنيات الفنية، بما في ذلك مئات من لوحات الألوان المائية والزيتية وآلاف النقوش ومطبوعات من الألواح الحجرية والأعمال المحفورة الفريدة، بالإضافة إلى العديد من الصور الفوتوغرافية والخرائط والأطالس والكتب المصوّرة القيّمة، مما يجعل مجموعته من أكبر المجموعات الخاصة.

ولد الدكتور هشام في عكا عام 1937 وعاش في القدس حتى عام 1974، حيث بدأ مجموعته من القدس وامتدت لتشمل باقي الأراضي الفلسطينية والأردن ومصر ومناطق أخرى كانت خاضعة لحكم العثمانيين. توفر المجموعة بمحتوياتها وتنوعها قيمة وثائقية وتاريخية لا تقدر بثمن، بما تتضمنه من تسجيل لمظاهر الحياة والآثار والمناظر الطبيعية كما كانت موجودة خلال الفترة العثمانية.

يقول الدكتور هشام في وصف مجموعته "تم الحصول على القطع الفنية بشكل أساسي من خلال الارتكاز على المعرفة وتكريس الوقت والمثابرة عوضاً عن استغلال النفوذ المالي. بناء عليه، لا تحتوي المجموعة على الأعمال الشرقية الغريبة والباهظة الثمن لقصور الجواري والأسواق الزاهية بالألوان والحمّامات العربية".

يأخذنا هذا المعرض في رحلة إلى داخل ذهن الدكتور هشام الخطيب، حيث نُلقي نظرة على العديد من صور المناظر الطبيعية الخلابة والخرائط والكتب التي أثارت اهتماماته. يتجاوز اختيار الأعمال المعروضة النظر إلى الصور ذات الأسلوب الاستشراقي في تصوير الشعب والثقافة، حيث تركز الأعمال على العلاقة بـ "الأرض المقدسة"؛ من خلال الجيولوجيا وعلم النبات والجغرافيا ورسم الخرائط.

كان لمعرفة الدكتور هشام الواسعة بالآثار وطبوغرافيّة المكان دور محوري في العثورعلى قطع ثمينة ونادرة والحصول عليها. يعود السبب في ثراء المجموعة إلى معرفة الدكتور هشام ومثابرته وصبره.

شغل الدكتور هشام الخطيب سابقاً عدة مناصب رسمية ضمن مجالس الوزراء الأردنية منها وزير الطاقة والثروة المعدنية ووزير المياه ووزير التخطيط. الدكتور هشام هو أيضاً مؤرخ خبير وجامع أعمال فنية قام بنشر العديد من المؤلفات حول هذا الموضوع  منها كتاب "القدس وفلسطين والأردن" وكتاب "فلسطين ومصر تحت الحكم العثماني"، حيث تم نشرهما في عمّان والقاهرة ولندن ونيويورك. شغل الدكتور هشام أيضاً منصب نائب رئيس مجلس الإدارة الفخري في مجلس الطاقة العالمي ورئيس اللجنة الإدارية لمنتدى الفكر العربي، كما كان عضواً في العديد من اللجان الدولية والإقليمية المعنية بالطاقة والبيئة والتكنولوجيا بما في ذلك لجنة الأمم المتحدة المعنية بتسخير العلم والتكنولوجيا لأغراض التنمية، والاتحاد العالمي للعلماء، بالإضافة إلى عدد من جمعيات السفر ودراسات الشرق الأوسط والأراضي المقدسة الأخرى.

الصورة: القدس المباركة. طبعة من لوح نحاسي. جانسون (1657). مجموعة الدكتور هشام الخطيب.

متعلّقات

Exhibition view.
Nathaniel Everett Green. Bethlehem - Panoramic view of the Church of Nativity, c. 1884.
Albums of Flowers and Pictures of the Holy Land. Olive-wood covered albums, c. 1890s. Each coloured photographic print is followed by dried flowers.
Franz Krauz. Visit Palestine Poster. Issued by the Tourist Development Association of Palestine, 1930-35. Original proof lithograph. Conger Metcalf. The Holy Land Poster, Garden of Gethsemane, Mount of Olives, 1960.
Exhibition view.
Exhibition view.
Exhibition view.
Palestine or the Holy Land, with 36 picturesque views. From Forbin’s Journey to the East, in the years 1817, 1818. Published in 1826.
Exhibition view.
exhibition
Topography of Place – Palestine and Jordan
Homage to Dr. Hisham Al Khatib: the Collector and the Archive

25 October 2022- 31 January 2023
Main Building

In 2022, we lost a valued friend and honorary member of Darat al Funun’s advisory board, Dr. Hisham Al Khatib, an intellectual, engineer, economist, historian and avid collector.

For forty years, Dr. Khatib patiently and professionally researched, documented, and collected works of art, including hundreds of watercolor and oil paintings, as well as thousands of unique etchings, lithographs and engravings, numerous photographs, as well as maps, atlases, and valuable plate books, making it one of the largest collections still in private hands.

Born in Akka in 1937, Dr. Hisham lived in Jerusalem until 1974. The collection, therefore, starts in Jerusalem and extends to the whole of Palestine, Jordan, Egypt, and the region under the Ottomans. The content and variety of the collection provide priceless documentary and historical value, most of which records life, monuments, and landscapes as they existed during the Ottoman period.

In the collector’s own words: “The pieces have been mainly acquired through knowledge, devotion, and perseverance rather than financial clout. Therefore, the Collection does not contain the expensive exotic oriental scenes of the harem, the colorful souks, and the hammams.”

In this exhibition, we take a journey into the mind of Dr. Hisham al Khatib, the collector, and get a glimpse into the many images of beautiful landscapes, maps, and books that occupied his visual lexicon and interests. The selection of works on display looks beyond the highly stylized and orientalized images depicting the people and culture, and focuses more on the relationship to the ‘Holy Land’ itself; through geology, botany, geography, and cartography.

Dr. Khatib's extensive knowledge of the antiquities and topography of the place played a pivotal role in finding and acquiring valuable and rare pieces. The richness of the collection is attributed to Dr. Khatib's knowledge, persistence, and patience.

Dr. Khatib previously held the positions of Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Minister of Water, and Minister of Planning. Dr. Khatib is also an expert historian and a collector of art, with many publications on the subject, such as his books “Jerusalem, Palestine & Jordan”, and  "Palestine and Egypt under the Ottomans", which are published in Amman, Cairo, London, and New York. He was also the Honorary Vice Chairman of the World Energy Council, Head of the Management Committee of the Arab Thought Forum. He was also a member of many international and regional committees on energy, environment, and technology including the UN CSTD, World Federation of Scientists, and other Middle East and Holy Land Studies and Travel Societies.

Image: Panoramas of Jerusalem. Copperplate print, hand-colored. Janson (1657). Dr. Hisham Al Khatib Collection.

related